back>
The Latin American Index of Budget Transparency 2003


send your
Suggestions

to improve this
new section!

On this Page

Organizations in ten Latin American released the results of a year-long study on budget transparency and participation in their countries on November 12.  The effort was coordinated by Fundar, a prominent Mexican nongovernmental organization, and leading nongovernmental organizations and academic researchers in the following countries have participated: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Mexico, Nicaragua, and PeruThe Latin American Index of Budget Transparency 2003 is presented in three parts:

  • A region-wide comparative report containing the results of a survey of the perceptions of individuals knowledgeable of the budget and budget process in each country.  The individuals surveyed in each country include legislators, academics and other experts, civil society organizations and journalists.  The report also contains specific recommendations for each country.

  • Ten country reports analyzing issues related to budget laws and practices in each country.

  • Ten extensive questionnaires covering the legal framework and budget practices in each country.


Who to Contact in Latin America

Additional Country Reports, Legal Frameworks and Questionnaires are forthcoming.

Argentina
-Country Report
-Legal Framework and Questionnaire
Virginia Lencina
Fundacion Poder Ciudadano
virginia@poderciudadano.org
www.poderciudadano.org
Tel: (5411) 4331 4925, ext. 218
Brazil
-Country Report
-Legal Framework and Questionnaire
João Sucupira and Julio Silva
Instituto Brasileiro de Análises Sociais e Estatísticas (Ibase)
ibase@ibase.br; jsilva@ibase.br
www.ibase.br
Tel: (5521) 2509 0660
Fax: (5521) 3852 3517
Chile
-Country Report
-Legal Framework and Questionnaire
Edmundo Beteta and Dante Contreras,
Universidad de Chile, Departamento de Economía
ebeteta@econ.facea.uchile.cl
http://www.econ.uchile.cl
Tel: (562) 6783 455
Fax: (562) 6347342
Colombia
-Country Report
-Legal Framework and Questionnaire
Gory Suárez
Corporacion Fondo De Apoyo De Empressa Asociativas (CORFAS)
presupuestos@cable.net.co
Tel: (571) 2445 251 and (571) 212 1088
Fax: (571) 269 0246
Costa Rica
-Country Report
-Legal Framework and Questionnaire
Miguel Gutiérrez Saxe
Programa Estado De La Nación illarreal@estadonacion.or.cr;
desahumano@conare.ac.cr
www.estadonacion.or.cr
Tel: (506) 290 7222
and (506) 232 0640
Fax: (506) 290 5879
Juan Rafael Vargas
Universidad De Costa Rica
jrvargas@cariari.ucr.ac.cr
www.ucr.ac.cr
Tel: (506) 207 5186
Fax: (506) 207 5241
Luis Alberto Cordero and Jean Paul Vargas
Fundación Arias Para La Paz y El Progreso Humano
luis_alberto@arias.or.cr;
paul@arias.or.cr

www.arias.or.cr
Tel: (506) 224 1919
Ecuador
-Country Report
-Legal Framework and Questionnaire
Juana Sotomayor
Centro de Derechos Económicos y Sociales (CDES)
juana.sotomayor@cdes.org.ec
www.cdes.org.ec
Tel: (5932) 2563 517
Fax:
(5932) 2560 449
El Salvador
-Country Report
-Legal Framework and Questionnaire
Jaime López
PROBIDAD
contacto@probidad.org
http://www.probidad.org
Tel:  (503) 243 9806
Fax:
(503) 243 9806
Mexico
-Country Report
-Legal Framework and Questionnaire

-Press Release
-Power Point Presentation
Helena Hofbauer and Briseida Lavielle
FUNDAR, Centro de Análisis e Investigación

helena@fundar.org.mx;
fundar@fundar.org.mx;
www.fundar.org.mx
Tel:(5255) 5595 2643
Fax:
(5255) 5681 0855
Laura Sour, Arturo del Castillo,
and Sergio San Sebastián
Programa de Presupuesto y
Gasto Público del Centro de
Investigación y Docencia Economicas (CIDE)
laura.sour@cide.edu;
sergio.sansebastian@cide.edu
www.cide.edu; www.transparencia.org.mx 
Tel: (5255) 5727 9800

Fax:
(5255) 5727 9873
Nicaragua
-Country Report
-Legal Framework and Questionnaire
Ana Quirós Víquez
Centro de Información y Servicios de Asesoría en Salud (CISAS)
cisas@cisas.org.ni
www.cisas.org.ni
Tel: (505) 266 3690
Fax: (505) 266 2237
Peru
-Country Report
-Legal Framework and Questionnaire                     
Eduardo Morón
Centro de Investigación de la Universidad del Pacifico (CIUP)
emoron@up.edu.pe
http://www.up.edu.pe/ciup/
Tel:
(511) 219 0100
Fax:
(511) 219 0135

 

 

International Budget Partnership of the
Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
820 First Street, NE Suite 510
Washington, DC 20002
Tel: 202 408 1080 | Fax: 202 408 1056
info@internationalbudget.org


Translate this site into another language!
(Automated translations provided by AltaVista)



Home
| About the IBP | Groups | Resources | Themes | Conferences
Search | FAQ | Sitemap

Viewing this site as text-only